Skip to content

Printable Handout: Identifying Gluten Free

Free CACFP Resource

What is gluten and how do you identify it?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and malt. Many common foods such as breads, cakes, cookies, crackers, tortillas, pasta, breaded meats and more contain gluten. Some children and adults have Celiac Disease, and consuming gluten can cause them to become seriously ill. Foods that have gluten can be identified using allergen statements (contains wheat or may contain wheat). Other ingredients that indicate gluten include semolina, malt, durum, graham flour and hydrolyzed wheat protein. It's important continue checking label ingredients over time as manufacturers can and do change recipes.

What's in this printable CACFP handout? 

This free printable CACFP handout on identifying gluten free is perfect for staff training, parent engagement, cooking classes and more. It includes:

  • Detailed information about gluten
  • Label-reading instructions
  • A list of safe General Mills foods
  • A creditable gluten-free recipe
  • Tips and tricks for identifying gluten-free